Everyone Has a Plan ’till They Get Punched In The Mouth.

tyson-punch-out

Everyone has a plan ’till they get punched in the mouth.

— Mike Tyson

I finally listened to an online info session that I missed last week about my upcoming research paper. As of January 22nd 2017, I’ll begin working on my final paper, which is due June 4th 2017 (I can’t wait! 🙌🏽). After listening to the info session I missed last week, I realized that half of 2017 will be spent in my basement reading, writing and reflecting… pretty much the same way I spent half of 2015 and the entire year of 2016. 😜

For some odd reason I thought the next six months would be easier than the past year and half… I thought I’d have time to complete my paper at my own pace, actually spend some time with friends, maybe plan a couple “weekend getaways” with the family… WRONG! (Insert punch in the mouth here 🥊) There’s schedules to be made, milestones to attain and deadlines to be met. It’s suggested that 200 hours of effort be put towards our research in order to complete a 10,000 word/45 page research paper. 😰 I’ve already began to plan a weekly agenda, outline my tasks and also allot time for research, writing and synthesizing my findings… (there I go again with that word “plan”).

Even though it seems like there’s a lot to do, it can be done. Yes, I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed and stressed (as usual) but who wouldn’t be? It’s normal. Especially when expectations are so high and time is limited. There’s a lot to be done over the next six months but I’m learning to practice what I preach and “trust the process”, stay focussed and enjoy the experience.

#6Months2Go

tyson-punch-out-ko

Leave a Reply

